Yes, They Will Survive

Edward Jay Epstein published a short essay at the Gawker offshoot Defamer yesterday. A few years ago, Epstein published a really good book called The Big Picture, a great analysis of the contemporary studio system.

While his description of Hollywood pulling out of Indies is spot on, I believe most indie filmmakers are beyond the point of crying Chicken Little. At least based on panels I’ve attended. I liked this quote in the comments section, though:

Don’t get me wrong. I can dig films like Old Joy, and I support seeing more films like that made. At the same time I don’t have any illusion that such films are really separate from the same studio machine that churns out dreck like Norbit. “Indie” has pretty much been just another market niche since the 90s.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

